Record:   Prev Next
作者 Phaswana, Nkhelebeni Edward
書名 Languages of use by the South African national government
國際標準書號 9780599917941
book jacket
說明 236 p
附註 Source: Dissertation Abstracts International, Volume: 61-08, Section: A, page: 3148
Adviser: Geneva Smitherman
Thesis (Ph.D.)--Michigan State University, 2000
This is a sociolinguistic study which seeks to investigate the extent to which South Africa's eleven official languages are used by the national government in carrying out its national duties. A secondary, related purpose of this study is to analyze the implications of the national government's language use
To explore the language or languages used by the South African national government and the implications thereof, the study places the South African language policy within its socio-historical context from the Seventeenth to the Twentieth Century. The new Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, adopted on the 8th of May 1996, and amended on the 11 th of October 1996 by the Constitutional Assembly, recognizes all the eleven major languages spoken in South Africa as national official languages. These languages are Afrikaans, English, Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu. Although during the apartheid era, only Afrikaans and English were used as official languages, the nine indigenous languages have been accorded an official status by the new democratic South African government
Both the interim and the new Constitutions demand that the indigenous African languages, whose use was historically diminished by the previous government (apartheid government), should be promoted and their status elevated. It is therefore the purpose of this study to investigate whether or not the Constitutional demands with respect to the new language policy are carried out by the new government
Three methods were used in collecting data for this study. In-depth interviews were conducted with Members of the South African Parliament, systematic observation was done in both portfolio committee rooms and at the National Assembly, and primary sources such as speeches delivered by Members of Parliament, bills, acts, newsletters, HANSARD document, annual reports etc., were used in examining the extent to which the national government affirms what the language policy of the Constitution requires
Results of this study indicate that the South African government is becoming monolingual, and English is being entrenched as the only official language in Parliament. All the speeches and deliberations made in the various portfolio committee rooms are conducted in English. Although in the National Assembly speeches and addresses could be made in any one of the eleven official languages, all the speeches in languages other than English are translated into English in the HANSARD document
African languages and Afrikaans are marginalized in Parliament. The study concludes that there won't be proper democracy and empowerment of the South African masses, if their languages are sidelined
School code: 0128
Host Item Dissertation Abstracts International 61-08A
主題 Language, Linguistics
History, African
Political Science, General
Language, General
Sociology, Social Structure and Development
Alt Author Michigan State University
Record:   Prev Next