Record:   Prev Next
Author Craughwell, Thomas J., 1956-
Title Failures of the presidents : from the Whiskey Rebellion and War of 1812 to the Bay of Pigs and war in Iraq / Thomas J. Craughwell with M. William Phelps
Imprint Beverly, MA : Fair Winds Press, 2008
book jacket
 Modern History Library  973.099 C897    AVAILABLE    30550100493202
Descript 320 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm
Note Includes bibliographical references (p. 289-300) and index
The Whiskey Rebellion : George Washington -- The Alien and Sedition Acts: John Adams -- The Embargo Acts: Thomas Jefferson -- The War of 1812: James Madison -- The Trail of Tears: Andrew Jackson -- Repeal of the Missouri Compromise: Franklin Pierce -- The attempt to annex Santo Domingo: Ulysses S. Grant -- The Pullman strike: Grover Cleveland -- "A splendid little war" with Spain: William McKinley -- The punitive expedition into Mexico: Woodrow Wilson -- The Bonus Army: Herbert Hoover -- The internment of Japanese-Americans in World War II: Franklin D. Roosevelt -- The Bay of Pigs invasion: John F. Kennedy -- The Tonkin Gulf Resolution: Lyndon B. Johnson -- The bombing of Cambodia: Richard Nixon -- Watergate: Richard Nixon -- The Iranian hostage crisis: Jimmy Carter -- The energy crisis and "malaise": Jimmy Carter -- The Iran-Contra Affair: Ronald Reagan -- War in Iraq: George W. Bush
Subject Presidents -- United States -- History
Presidents -- United States -- Decision making -- Case studies
United States -- Politics and government -- Case studies
United States -- Foreign relations -- Case studies
Political leadership -- United States -- Case studies
Executive power -- United States -- Case studies
Alt Author Phelps, M. William
Record:   Prev Next