Record:   Prev Next
Author Kelly, Joseph, 1962- author
Title Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin / Joseph Kelly
Imprint New York ; London ; Oxford : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2018
book jacket
LOCATION CALL # STATUS OPACMSG BARCODE
 Fu Ssu-Nien WTN LANG BK  F234.J3 K29 2018    AVAILABLE    30530001328921
Descript ix, 500 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Note "For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"-- Provided by publisher
Includes bibliographical references (pages 435-451) and index
Renegades -- Tsenacomoco -- Nantaquod on the James -- Call of the wild -- Maroons -- The American adventure -- Lost -- The first frontier -- Trouble times -- The kiss-my-arse revolution -- Rescue
Subject Jamestown (Va.) -- History -- 17th century
Frontier and pioneer life -- Virginia -- Jamestown
Virginia -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Record:   Prev Next